Recent Tweets

CNA: Medical-Surgical & Gerontology Nursing Specialties for RPNs

Jun 01, 2020

Medical-Surgical & Gerontology Nursing Specialties for RPNs!

The Canadian Nurses Association offers 22 nursing practice specialties. The certification credential is part of a respected national certification program. Specialty certification provides official recognition by nursing colleagues and health system stakeholders of the unique community practice focus and that certified nurses are qualified, competent, and current in the practice of their area of nursing.

In 2019 CNA introduced their first certification for registered practical nurses - The Gerontological nursing exam. The official designation letters, GPNC(C), are engraved on the pin provided to candidates who have successfully passed the rigorous national practice and knowledge requirements of the certification exam. CNA and RPNAO encourages you to wear your pin with pride.

In 2020, a second exam, Medical-Surgical Nursing for Registered Practical Nurses, will be offered for November 1-15 exam window. Application will open on June 1st, 2020

2020 CNA Certification Application Information

Initial application is entirely online.


Initial exam

Application Window:

  • June 1 - Sept. 10
    • Exam window: Nov. 1 - 15
    • Results: December

Resources for Applicants

Use the following links for further certification information:

Stay Informed! Sign up for RPN nursing news, policy updates, education programs and events.