Recent Tweets

Medical-Surgical & Gerontology Nursing Specialties for RPNs 2021 exams

Jan 01, 1970

The Canadian Nurses Association offers 22 nursing practice specialties. The certification credential is part of a respected national certification program. Specialty certification provides official recognition by nursing colleagues and health system stakeholders of the unique community practice focus and that certified nurses are qualified, competent, and current in the practice of their area of nursing.

In 2019 CNA introduced their first certification for registered practical nurses - The Gerontological nursing exam. The official designation letters, GPNC(C), are engraved on the pin provided to candidates who have successfully passed the rigorous national practice and knowledge requirements of the certification exam. CNA and WeRPN encourages you to wear your pin with pride.

2021 CNA Certification Application Information

2021 Fall  Exams

  • Apply from June 1 – September 1
  • Exam writing window: November 1 – 15.
  • Receive your results in December

Renewal by continuous learning

  • Apply anytime from January 14 – November 1, 2021

- See more at:

Resources for Applicants

Use the following links for further certification information:

Stay Informed! Sign up for RPN nursing news, policy updates, education programs and events.